Syangja-2 Election Controversy: Investigation Team Submitting Report To Commission Today

Nov 28, Kathmandu- The team formed to investigate the dispute related to the election of Syangja-2 is submitting its report today.

The investigation team formed under the leadership of Joint Secretary of the Commission Phanindra Gautam is going to submit its report to the Election Commission today. The team went to the district for on-site observation and discussion with stakeholders. The team discussed with the security agencies of the district, the administration, the polling officers and assistant officers of the booths where there was a dispute, and the protesting political parties. The team that discussed with the political parties separately also met with the polling officers. An inquiry committee was formed to submit a report within 3 days.

UML demanded a re-voting and did not allow the counting of votes in Disingkot, Ram Mandir, Dindayalu, Chitthi Pokhari booths of Chapakot Municipality Ward No. 3, 4, and 5 because of rigging by the Nepali Congress. District No. 2 Election Officer Ramchandra Sharma informed that he is waiting for the instructions of the Election Commission. Congress Vice President Dhanraj Gurung, UML Secretary Padma Kumari Aryal, Rashtriya Swatantra Party's Tika Raj Gurung, and others are contesting from this region.