Sports Awards: Top 3 nominations in four categories announced

Feb 09, Kathmandu- The top three athletes of the NSJF Pulsar Sports Awards to be organized by the Nepal Sports Journalists Forum have been selected in four different categories.

The Nepal Sports Journalist Forum (NSJF) player selection committee held a press conference in Kathmandu on Friday and announced the nominations of the top three players in the categories of best male player of the year, best female player of the year, best young player of the year and best coach of the year.

8-8 people were nominated in that category. Cricket's Dev Khanal, Athletics' Rammaya Budha and Boxing's Sushma Tamang are among the top three nominees for the Young Sportsperson of the Year. Athletics' Chandra Bahadur Gurung, Boxing's Deepak Maharjan and Cricket's Jagat Tamata are among the best coaches of the year, while Athletics' Deepak Adhikari and Cricket's Asif Shaikh and Rohit Poudel are among the top three in the Male Player of the Year category.

In the same year, Anusha Malla of basketball, Rajpura Pachai of athletics and Pushpa Bhandari were among the top three among the best female players, Govind Nepal, a member of the award selection committee, informed. This time, the 20th edition is being held at the Yak and Yeti Hotel on Sunday, Magh 28. Prajwal Oli, coordinator of the selection committee, informed that the winner will be selected from the best three on the day of the program.

Since this edition, the same eight nominees have been included in four categories. Previously, five nominees were announced and the winner was announced on the day of the award. In the People's Choice category, there are five nominations and the winner will be announced on the day of the award. This time the winners of five categories namely Male, Female, Youth, Trainer and People's Choice will get the Bajaj Pulsar Motorcycle Award.